The Wednesday Poll Dance

It’s Wednesday again!  You all know what that means!  Another pointless (but utterly amusing) Poll! 😀

It’s a beautiful day in New York.  Bright sun.  Temps bordering 60.  Cotton puff clouds overhead.  Today’s question is an easy one.  No brain burning required.

What are you looking forward to most about the upcoming spring/summer?  Got a killer vacation planned?  Intend to lounge around with a good book and a stiff drink on the edge of a pool?

I’m not really a fan of summer.  I’m more of a winter/fall gal.  What I do love about the warmer weather though, is my garden.  I’m already itching to plant tomatoes, melons and tons of herbs.  That and the BBQ.  There’s nothing like a midnight BBQ with friends – and lots of ice-cold beer.  😀

Comments
8 Responses to “The Wednesday Poll Dance”
  1. neekee says:

    Grabbing a few friends and relations, hiking the five hour drive dead north to go hide in the woods, away from the civilized world. No tv, internet, radio, and barely any cell reception, the kind of place where horror movies happen. The cabin on the lake, the whispering of ancient pines telling me tales of a simpler life, feet up on the porch rocking in the breeze, wondering if I’m brave enough to go swimming in the might be 60* waters. wandering around the woodlands of my youth in the forced family trips to visit my mothers parents, and now that they’re gone, it is as peaceful a place as I dreamed it could be, despite my brothers. Playing cribbage, spades, scrabble, chess, and gin, drinking and laughing with little care in the world.

    with luck i’ll get to stake out time at least twice this summer, make up for missing out last year.

  2. Katie says:

    Dude. Summer all the way!! Maybe it’s because I live in the soggy hell that is the Pacific Northwest, who knows, but I look forward to summer every day that it isn’t here.

    Things I’m looking forward to?

    Sunshine baking the tops of my arms as we drive around town, picking up ice cold sushi and fruit smoothies from Jamba Juice. The sound water makes when someone jumps into a swimming pool. BBQs – lots and lots of them. The roll of ocean waves and the flap of my husband’s kite overhead while I lay in the hot sand reading a book (though, this will be problematic this year as I have only been buying ebooks to read on my laptop which probably won’t enjoy the sand much). Gardening. The smell of freshly cut grass after I’ve doped up on a ton of antihistamines. Visiting my family that lives on the other side of the Cascades because I’m too terrified to drive through mammoth mountains in the snow where we could easily slide off an icy cliff and plummet to our deaths. Watching my kids run through the sprinkler at my mother-in-law’s house while I sit on her porch sipping lemonade, staring at Mt. Hood (which is literally in her backyard). Wearing sunglasses 24/7. The shock of an air-conditioned house after coming in from 90 degree weather. Skirts and tank tops and flip flops. Getting a killer tan. Sitting in my writing chair by the front room window watching our weeping birch sway in the breeze, listening to the sound of it’s leaves because they remind me of laying/lying in the grass under trees as a kid. Cold orange slices.

    There’s probably more, but I’m depressing myself. It’s only the first day of Spring which means, in Oregon at least, Summer is a loooooooonnnnng ways away. ::sigh::

  3. I’m absolutely looking forward to spending as many days at the beach as possible. We just moved from Toledo to south of Tampa last summer. I was too busy remodeling to properly enjoy the talcum powder sands. I will strive to get my fill of those days very soon, since warm weather is just upon us here.

    Marsha

  4. HBS says:

    Family! Everyone lives far away, but there are always summer trips planned to visit without the chaos of the holidays. And in just a few weeks, we get to welcome a new member into the family when Allison and Wes get married! Yay!

  5. SEG says:

    I am a Boston kid. But I will be spending me spring and summer Atving, camping, drinking and going to the beach

  6. Jeanie Escabi says:

    I looove the summer. I live up north in Massachusetts, so I only get to enjoy nice weather for a short season. I really only come alive in the summer, the rest of the 3 seasons is waiting till it comes back again. I enjoy deep sea fishing as much as possible. thats the highlight, being out on the ocean with the wind and sun with my two boys is almost as much fun as catching the fish. Almost.
    When I’m not out on the ocean, I’m soaking in the beauty of my flower gardens, mowing my lawn, going for walks and scouring the trees to see if I can catch a glimpse of a new or different bird I haven’t seen yet. A highlight of my work week in the summer is being able to eat dinner outside on my deck as the sun sets. In the winter its dark when i get out at 5.
    I spent 4 somewhat lonesome years going to college after I got divorced, when my boys were pretty little. I didn’t have money to go shopping or travel or go out, and I didn’t have a lot of friends since most of them were single and going out at night. I became friends with my gardens and the birds and nature, it really helped me stay sane while I was studying. Now I work full time, so I don’t have as much outdoor time. I have plenty of other things to keep me busy, but I miss it.
    So long story short I look forward to spending every waking moment enjoying the few short months of nice weather and sunshine, so i can store it up to last another winter. I think a move down south is somewhere in my future!! 🙂

  7. Aggy says:

    Ahhh, this summer is full of hopes and fears. June 1st is the arrival of “Bun”, so I’m definitely looking forward to that. And the pool got it’s first use on Sunday, although it was a bit cold. Water was 76. The back yard is looking gorgeous, all the sod is in, the mulch is going in beautifully, and I’ll be building raised gardens in the next few weeks. So I’m looking forward to lots of things this spring and summer. It will be a good year…

  8. danicaavet says:

    I’m with you, I prefer fall/winter (mostly because I’d rather be cold than sweat). I’ve got a bit of a busy summer coming up. My brother is getting married in June and I’m attending my first RWA Nationals Conference in July. I don’t know if I want to attempt to do more, lol.

Leave a Reply

