The Wednesday Poll Dance

So between having no power for the better part of a week, and working to finish the complete first draft of On the Other Side, I’ve missed two Poll dances!  So to make up for last week’s, which didn’t get posted because, to be honest, I forgot about it, today will be a two parter!

Part one:  Snuggled under the covers, you drift of to sleep.  Some time later, you wake to find your no longer tucked away in your nice warm bed.  You’re someplace else.  The sky is dark and there’s a carpet of lush green grass under your feet.  In front of you is a single sheet of white paper tacked to a tree.  Written in scratchy, barely legible script, are instructions.  You’re stuck here for a single day.  Anything you want or need will be provided for you.  You’re allowed to choose one person – any person – to spend it with. Who do you choose?

Part two:  You’ve made your choice and your company for the day has arrived.  Don’t ask how.  Let’s pretend it’s magic.  Let’s say they appeared in a glorious flash of brilliantly colored lights and shooting sparks.  Too bad you didn’t have a camera.  You can do anything except leave.  Food, TV, a boxing ring, anything you can imagine – will be provided for you.  No questions asked.  You need only to think about it, and it will appear.  How do you spend the day?

As for my answer, I need to think about this one.  I’ll get back to…um…myself… by tomorrow!

Comments
15 Responses to “The Wednesday Poll Dance”
  1. neekee says:

    I wake up in my cabin in the woods in Maine. The haunting cries of the loon letting me know, before my eyes open that I am here. The brisk chill of the pine scented mountain air confirming that this horsehair mattress I am uncomfortable curled up on is my camp. I am safe, miles away from everything. Yawning and stretching to life, I pad out to the kitchen to greet the sunrise across the lake, a brilliant blaze of gold dancing on the lake. Coffee is already brewed, strange as I don’t drink coffee much, and it smells deeper, darker than any coffee I would drink. I pour myself a cup; too much sugar and lots of milk, I mean, it might as well be melted coffee ice cream. I pad out to the porch where I hear the rocking chair slowly, rhythmically creaking.

    My daughters late father is sitting, foot tucked up leaning on his knee, sipping his coffee, smiling softly with his eyes closed, rocking. Before I can drop my cup in panic, as he’s been gone 13 years now, I understand the magic of the here, and now.

    I spend the rest of my time here in this enchantment learning the lessons that he can teach me, finding rest and relaxation, finding drive and determination. Apologizing for not knowing better, being young and stupid, and saying the goodbyes I never had the chance.

  2. Jus Accardo says:

    Ack! Someone pointed out I never posted. I did… I just never HIT post. I’m going to blame lack of coffee and get on with it 😛

    Since I spend every day with Cal, and as someone else said, this is only a single day, I’d have to pick a friend of mine I lost a while back.
    As to what we’d do? A few cold beers, Killian’s the only one I can stand, and a lot of conversation. Catching up and questions. Lots and lots of questions.

    All these answers are great. Very thought provoking 🙂

  3. neekee says:

    ..hey wait…

    show me yours and I’ll show you mine

    =P

  4. HBS says:

    I’m going to duck the rules a little…

    Part one: I would trade my place in this fantasy with my 16 month old daughter and ask for the other person to be my dad. He left us before she was born, but he had always dreamed about meeting her some day.

    Part two: All of my little girl’s favorite toys to play with her grandpa… and one top of the line theater organ, so he could play her all of the songs he used to play for us when we were little.

    …sniff… now I’m getting all teary-eyed 😦

  5. SEG says:

    Part one: This is a tough one. I enjoy spending time with my girlfriend Erin and her hockey star for a daughter Madison, however I see them all the time. With that being said, it would be a tough toss up between three of my close friends that passed on(Wendi, Wayne, and Derek) or one of my Grandfathers. Since it would be so hard for me to choose, I would pick my Dad’s dog Mini that passed away 5 years ago.

    Part two: We would spend the day driving my ATV in the woods with mini hanging on tight to the gas tank, followed by sitting in front of a camp fire as I drink beers. She would lay on my lap and we would listen to some old Hank Williams, Johny Cash, and Patsy Cline music until I passed out from too much beer and whiskey.

  6. Anna Payne says:

    Part One: No one. I love my husband and children dearly, however there are those times one just needs to be alone.
    Part Two:
    I would wish for a horse to ride. I would spend the morning riding quietly through the trails listening to the sounds of the wood land around me. For lunch I would wish for a simple sandwich and two apples. One for me and one for the horse. Perhaps after lunch I would gallop along the sea shore hearing nothing but the rush of wind in my ears and breathing deep the smell of salted air. I would stand with the sand between my toes and watch the sun sink in to the ocean. Then I would wish for the only thing that would make me want to leave such a wondrous place. To be home with my husband and children.

  7. Courtney says:

    I’m pretty sure that I just want to go where Kevin is, but for the sake of the poll, I’ll come up with something.

    So, of course I’d pick Kevin to be with me. I’d also like to not be pregnant when we go to this wonderful place. I’d want a nice waterfall that ends in a beautiful clear pool. The water would be warm and free of any kind of aquatic life. We would spend our day splashing in the water and laying in the warm sun. It would be a perfect day of being together without any distractions from anywhere!

  8. Erin says:

    Part 1: my gram
    Part 2: find out what heaven is like and catch her up on the happenings of the last 25 years (unless she’s already seen it).

  9. Jeanie Escabi says:

    Part 1: My Mom. I have a fantastic boyfriend that I plan on spending the rest of my life with, so I’ll have plenty of opportunities to vacation with him, so for this purpose I will chose my Mom because I want to cherish all the time I have left with her. (she’s 64)

    Part 2: Easy answer. If I read the question correctly I can’t choose the location just “things”. I would have two very comfortable lawn chairs, two big mugs of coffee, some strawberry shortcake, two bird books (I’m assuming we’re outside and we’re both love birds) and thats it!! We’re pretty easy to please lol

  10. robert says:

    Hmm…Part of me answers my wife to the first part of the question, but since this is just for one day and it can be anyone and it’s not like i’m not going back to my life the next day…i’m going to take things in an entirely different direction. Regardless of your beliefs I have to think that this opportunity would be interesting.

    Part 1: Jesus because if you believe he is who he says, how cool would that be, and if you don’t believe it would give you the opportunity to know once and for all if you are right or not.
    Part 2: Lots of questions and explanations.

  11. Scott says:

    Part one: Angel

    part two: Exploring this new place, and enjoying another day of each other’s company.

  12. Derrick says:

    The first part of the questions requires no thought. My girl. It will always be my girl.
    The second part of the question – well – what’s this blog rated?
    Just kidding.
    We would do what ever she wanted. What ever made her happy. There would be no obstacles. No past. Only a future.
    My main concern is – since I sleep naked – do i wake up naked? Just wondering. That might change things 😉

  13. Jenn says:

    A nice thought provoking question. I would be in a fantasy world where It is only James and I enjoying each other’s company watching movies, cooking meals together, and playing with our German Shepard Diego in a huge park. Enjoying each other’s company is truly an important essence to life, for all our troubles will be melted away.. at least for the day!

  14. Shadogirl says:

    This isn’t a tough one. My answer would be my grandmother. No fancy food or boxing ring needed… I would be content with a simple card table, two comfy chairs, and some good tea. What would we do? Talk about all the things we never got a chance to. All those family secrets, all the long forgotten recipes and funny antidotes. I want to know them all.

  15. Aggy says:

    Part one: Courtney. There’s just no other person I would rather spend time with. Not that I don’t love my daughter, but my wife has no equal to me…

    Part two: We’ll spend the day enjoying the UV-free sun on the beach, and playing in the sand and waves. The water would be sparkling clean with no seaweed or jelly fish. And the sand under the waves would be as soft as the sands in California. A feast would be laid out in the shade, and some roller coasters in the forest behind us would offer some exciting amusement when we weren’t frolicking around relaxing.

Leave a Reply

