The Wednesday Poll Dance

Welcome to another addition of the Wednesday Poll Dance!  Today we’re talking about research.  As a writer, research is important.  Yes, fiction is, well, fiction, but it’s hard to write character who is doctor if you have no idea what it is a doctor does.  Have a bad guy who likes setting fires?  Ask the fire department.  But be careful.  They tend to turn a suspicious eye when you want to know how to set fire to a house and make it look accidental…

So here it is:

What’s the most outrageous thing you’ve done in the name of research?

For you non-writers out there, what’s the most outrageous thing you’ve done to get someone’s attention?

I’ve done some pretty strange things for research, gotten some very interesting looks and some very colorful replies, but the one that sticks out is bungee jumping.  Not a big deal some would say.  I’d agree – if I wasn’t terrified of heights.  I have a scene in the second Depanoske book that requires my mc to jump off a bridge with a bungee cord.  Now the mc, like me, isn’t a fan of heights.  Sure, I could have faked it, but I wanted the scene to be powerful.  Real emotion.  Real fear.  And trust me.  There was a LOT of fear.  So I resolved to jump off a bridge myself.  Having gone through with it, I can’t say I have any regret.  It was new experience, and isn’t that what life is all about?

Comments
3 Responses to “The Wednesday Poll Dance”
  1. Kevin says:

    Now we just need you to write about flying to Texas and hanging out…

  2. neekee says:

    ..wow.. I can’t imagine throwing myself off a bridge tied to an overgrown rubber band.. My research lay in other areas.. But I can understand how you’d want to really ‘be there’ in that moment of terror, bliss, fear, exhilaration etc. I can agree that if i were to try to write about something so foreign to my life experiences, that i would want to immerse myself in the concept for a real reaction.

    wow.. bungee ..

  3. Derrick says:

    I am a song writer so research is not a big part of my gig. As far as outrageous things done to get some ones attention – I went bungee jumping with some one. Really – I am not a fan of heights my self. 😉

Leave a Reply

