The Wednesday Poll Dance

Welcome to the first Wednesday Poll Dance!

So today’s question is about Point Of View (POV).  After having this discussion with a friend the other day, I’m curious if anyone else does this.  She’s a fan of third person POV.  So much so, that she’ll pass on any book not written that way.  So here it is.

When shopping for a book, does POV matter to you?  Do you prefer first person?  Third?  Do you hate present?  Would you pass on a book because of the POV it’s written in?  Why?  Let’s go one step further.  Writers.  Do you prefer to write in a specific POV?  Would you/have you done projects in a different one?

So chime in!  What are your thoughts?

Me, I love first person.  Third person is Okay if it’s done well.  Present tense I’m not a fan of, though The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins was excellent.

When it comes to writing though, first person has my heart.  I’ve tried to write in other POVs.  My first book, Firefly, was originally written in third person.  After writing The Gatekeepers in first person I went back and played with it a bit.  It didn’t take me long to realize Kayne’s voice would be better served in first and so I rewrote it.  After that I was hooked.

Comments
7 Responses to “The Wednesday Poll Dance”
  1. neekee says:

    I have to agree with Christi, what matters most is how well the author can tell the story. some do better in PoV, some in third.

    just my $.02

  2. Jenn says:

    I have always been a fan of first person because I like to get into the character’s mind. As the stoey comes to an end you are able to figure out why the character(s) did and said what they did throughout the book. It is an added bonus when an author has its main characters only in first person by interchanging each of their thoughts at each beginning of the chapter. First person is only enjoyable if the author does a good job. If not, then it should be third person.

  3. Katie says:

    I hate, hate, hate first person present tense. It’s rare that an author can pull it off in a way that doesn’t make me throw the book across the room, so if I know going in that the author has picked that POV, I probably won’t buy it. If I’m in the store and can actually leaf through the thing, I’ll check it out and then decide. My YA crit partner has one that alternates between first present and first past that’s working okay and is pretty much required for the story, but boy… her past tense sections are waaaaay better.

    I write in super close 3rd, past primarily. Some of my characters come through better in first, but since I’m a POV shifter (usually between the hero and heroine, sometimes the hero, heroine, and villain), writing in first isn’t practical. The first book I write where I don’t need to be in multiple POVs, I’m going to give first a try. And yeah, I know writing first person in two POVs is all the rage in YA, but unless the two characters have completely different voices (ala PERFECT CHEMISTRY by Simone Elkeles), it isn’t effective!

    Your first person in GATEKEEPERS rocks, Jus. That’s a story that I don’t think would be as good in third. Maybe it’s the single POV thing. I like being in Sabrina’s head!

  4. Firewolf says:

    Phoenixfirewolf from LJ here… Yeah, I don’t care that much. I used to not like 1st but over a decade of reading UF has changed my mind. I don’t like 3rd omniscient though. Unless the changes between character POV’s are clearly marked. (OMG, I just read what I wrote… a decade… feels old.)

  5. christi says:

    I really don’t care what POV my books are written in as long as I like the story line. I’m simple.

  6. Linda says:

    I like both first and third person POV. I first person POV–that’s well written, I get intimately involved, I’m that character. In third person, I’m not a POV purest, however, that said I hate head hopping every other paragraph. To me, it’s all about whether the story and writing hold me. The key are the characters; are they believable and are their actions true to the character and the situation they’re in.

  7. Derrick says:

    I am a fan of third person my self. I feel first person limits the story. With third person I get to see more of what is going on.

Leave a Reply

